For most up-to-date list of officers and their contact info go to the following page:

2018-2019 Officers

Hitesh Chawla

Hitesh Chawla is a Masters student in Transportation Engineering. He received his Bachelors of Technology (B.Tech) from Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee (IIT Roorkee), India in May 2017 and then moved to U.S. to pursue Masters at Iowa State University. While studying at IIT Roorkee, he developed his interest in Transportation Engineering and went on to have two research internships in the same field. Hitesh believes in team spirit and never backs down from a task given to him. He wants to make an effective contribution in TSA and looks forward to working together with other TSA members.


Brianna Lawton
Vice President/ Secretary

Brianna Lawton is a Civil Engineering, PhD student with a focus in Transportation Engineering at Iowa State University (ISU). Ms. Lawton received her Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering from Morgan State University, where she served as President and charter member of the first recorded historically black college and university (HBCU) chapter of Chi Epsilon, the national Civil Engineering Honor Society.  Ms. Lawton is also an inducted member of Tau Beta Pi, the national Engineering Honor Society, where she served as outreach community service coordinator.

As an undergraduate, she gained experience working for industry companies and organizations like HDR Inc. and First Transit, along with conducting geotechnical-transportation research. Currently, Ms. Lawton is working for the Institute of Transportation, where she studies methods of mitigating crash incidents along rural intersections through various safety countermeasures.

Being an outgoing individual, she is eager to learn and assume more challenges this year as Vice President of the Transportation Student Association at ISU. Ms. Lawton’s goals are to increase awareness and membership of the organization through collaborative events with other STEM organizations on campus and off campus associations, while also aiming to diversify membership.

Go Cyclones!


Archana Venkatachalapathy

Archana Venkatachalapathy is a master’s student at Iowa State specializing in Intelligent Infrastructure Engineering. Hailing from India, where a population of over a billion means that the only way you escape traffic is by magic, she is interested in applying magic of a different sort – Algorithms  to both design and develop robust traffic signals. She is detail oriented and extremely organized  making her an invaluable asset to the team . Owing to her experience serving as the junior prefect and as the Training and Placement Secretary whilst as an undergrad back home she is encouraged to hone the role of Treasurer of TSA.  She admits that all her life,  she has been as tight as the bark on a tree making her the most obvious choice to manage TSA’s funds. She looks forward to another successful year with her significant contribution at TSA!


Chao Zhou
Recruitment Chair

Chao Zhou is an Engineer In Training (E.I.T.) and a master student in Transportation Engineering with expected completion in May 2019. Chao received his Bachelor of Science (B.S.) with great distinction in Civil Engineering from Iowa State University in May 2017. During his undergraduate years, Chao’s interest in transportation engineering had grown sharply when he got exposed to highway safety design and operation subjects. Currently, he is a Graduate Research Assistant at the Institute for Transportation, mainly working on traffic safety studies. As a recruitment chair, Chao’s goal is to collaborate with all members to make TSA a vibrant student organization.


Bryce Hallmark
Social Chair/ESC Representative

Bryce Hallmark is a Masters student in working with Dr. Dong. He is from Ankeny, Iowa and also received his Bachelor’s in Civil Engineering from Iowa State. His research work centers around winter weather effects. He previously was progressing towards a specialization in civil for asphalt materials until he discovered his passion for transportation systems. He is currently serving as the Social Chair for the TSA group.